UWG Foundation Names New Trustees

Julie Lineback

Monday, August 1st, 2022

The University of West Georgia Foundation Board of Trustees announced today the addition of four new members.

Joining the board are John Paulk III ’00, Michael Stone (2017 UWG honorary degree recipient), Steve Swope and R. David Ware ’76. The returning chair for the UWG Foundation is Ann Newman ’01, vice president for Wells Fargo’s west Georgia region.

“We are thrilled to welcome these four new members to our Board of Trustees as we continue to dedicate ourselves to the curation of a first-choice university,” said Dr. Meredith Brunen, CEO of UWG’s foundations and vice president for university advancement. “They join a highly committed group of trustees who demonstrate a high level of leadership and the ability to make connections and investments in service to our students. I look forward to working with our board to continue enhancing the transformative education UWG provides.”

Established in 1967, the UWG Foundation serves as the university’s philanthropic arm. Its purpose in cultivating, soliciting and stewarding donor funds is to advance strategic priorities for the long-term benefit and enhancement of the university. The Foundation is governed by a board of trustees composed of business and industry leaders, community leaders, and alumni whose primary goals are in service to the university community.

Foundation trustees are elected to four-year terms and serve on various committees, including board development, finance and investment, resource development, audit and others.