Lt. Governor Duncan Announces Senate Members of Joint Study Committee

Staff Report

Thursday, May 26th, 2022

Today, Lt. Governor Geoff Duncan announced the appointment of Senate members to the Joint Study Committee on the Electrification of Transportation. The study committee was established pursuant to SR 463, which the Senate adopted during the 2022 legislative session.

“Georgia’s recognition as a global economic leader has laid the foundation for significant expansions in the technology sector, which is positioned to play a key role in promoting sustainability,” said Lt. Governor Duncan. “As the market for electric vehicles grows here and abroad, Georgia must be ready to meet the demand with appropriate infrastructure planning. This committee will work to produce a comprehensive plan that ensures Georgia maintains its support of this growing market while securing a prosperous economic outlook for communities throughout the state.”

The Joint Study Committee on Electrification of Transportation will be Co-chaired by Sen. Steve Gooch (R – Dahlonega).

“It’s no secret that the electric vehicle industry has Georgia on its mind, which is why the creation of this committee is vital to preserving our state’s seat at the table,” said Sen. Gooch. “I look forward to leading the General Assembly’s efforts in establishing a carefully-crafted infrastructure for continued growth of electric transportation in the Peach State.”

The Senate members appointed to serve on this joint committee are:

Sen. Bill Cowsert (R – Athens)
Sen. Frank Ginn (R – Danielsville)
Sen. Larry Walker (R – Perry)
Sen. David Lucas (D – Macon), Ex-officio
Sen. Randy Robertson (R – Cataula), Ex-officio