Georgia Chamber Announces 2024 ‘Legislators of the Year’

Staff Report

Monday, June 24th, 2024

Today, the Georgia Chamber of Commerce formally announced its 2024 Legislators of the Year. These awards are given to those elected officials who focus their legislative efforts on enacting policies that promote economic development and job creation throughout the state. These legislators are voted on by the Executive Committee of the Georgia Chamber’s Government Affairs Council (GAC), the body that both determines the organization’s legislative agenda, and directs the positions the organization takes on specific legislation.

Each year, the Georgia Chamber awards one state Senate member, one state House member and one freshman member as their Legislators of the Year. This year’s recipients are Senator Matt Brass (Newnan), Representative Shaw Blackmon (Bonaire), and Representative Deborah Silcox (Sandy Springs), respectively.

Senator Matt Brass stated, “Throughout my tenure in the State Senate, maintaining a strong relationship with the Georgia Chamber and the statewide business community has been a high priority.  I’m honored to receive this esteemed award from an organization who understands the unique relationship that business and government must maintain to ensure our continued successes for our job creators, workforce, and families alike.”

Representative Shaw Blackmon remarked, “It’s quite humbling to be recognized as the House Legislator of the Year by the Georgia Chamber. It crucial that we continue to foster a pro-business environment for employers as the driving force of Georgia’s economy. I look forward to continuing our work with the Georgia Chamber to enact smart and flexible policies that will continue our trajectory as the best place to live, work, and raise a family.”

"I'm proud to be a pro-business, pro-jobs legislator, and I'm honored by this recognition,” said Representative Deborah Silcox. “My priority will remain keeping our economy running by ensuring Georgia businesses prosper and economic opportunities are afforded to all Georgians. I look forward to the continued partnership with the Chamber and the business community to keep Georgia the number one state in which to do business for years to come."

The Georgia Chamber congratulates this year’s award recipients and commends them for their dedication to their constituents and to our great state. For more information on the Chamber’s public affairs activity, please visit