Speaker Ralston Appoints Special Committee on Access to Quality Health Care

Staff Report From Georgia CEO

Thursday, January 10th, 2019

Speaker David Ralston (R-Blue Ridge) appointed a Special Committee on Access to Quality Health Care for the 2019-2020 legislative term. This committee follows the recommendations of the House Rural Development Council that the House of Representatives review the regulatory environment for healthcare providers and facilities in the State of Georgia.

“For years we have wrestled with how to maintain access to quality, affordable health care throughout our state – particularly in our rural areas,” said Speaker Ralston. “It is my view that we must have a proper forum to discuss any proposed changes to our healthcare regulations including our Certificate of Need (CON) program. I believe strongly that this issue must be given the deliberate and careful examination it deserves.”

The Special Committee will be chaired by Insurance Committee Chairman Richard Smith (R-Columbus). Health and Human Services Committee Chairman Sharon Cooper (R-Marietta) will serve as Vice-Chair of the Special Committee. The other members of the committee are listed below:

Patty Bentley (D-Butler)

John Corbett (R-Lake Park)

Spencer Frye (D-Athens)

Matt Hatchett (R-Dublin)

Penny Houston (R-Nashville)

Todd Jones (R-South Forsyth)

Mark Newton (R-Augusta)

Randy Nix (R-LaGrange)

Butch Parrish (R-Swainsboro)

Clay Pirkle (R-Ashburn)

Brian Prince (D-Augusta)

Ed Rynders (R-Albany)

Calvin Smyre (D-Columbus)