WGTC Qualifies 24 For National Business Competition

Staff Report From Newnan CEO

Thursday, April 20th, 2017

West Georgia Technical College Phi Beta Lambda students excelled at the 2017 State Leadership Conference in Atlanta recently, demonstrating their knowledge, professionalism and leadership potential.

Out of the organization’s 45 members, 35 students competed, and out of those 35 competitors, 24 students qualified to attend the national competition in Anaheim, Calif., later this year. In total, students brought home 40 awards in 28 different events.

Students participated in competitive events focused on several business-related topics, including forensic accounting, project management and business communication.

Beyond individual competitions, students participated in chapter and team events, with the organization’s Douglas Chapter being named Chapter of the Year.

The Douglas group also reached the Platinum level in Georgia’s Awards of Merit program and placed first in Local Chapter Annual Business Report and second in Community Service Project. The chapter also received first place for Foundation Sponsorship, second place for March of Dimes donations and third place for Interaction with FBLA.

Carroll Chapter placed first place for March of Dimes donations and second place for Foundation Sponsorship.

Further, individual students received special recognition. David Herrington and Cindy Wilson received the “Who’s Who in PBL” award. McAllister Wheeless received the Mel Evans Scholarship. Sherry Gomez, Valencia Harper and McAllister Wheeless received the Outstanding Chapter Member Award.

Douglas adviser, Mona Williams, was appointed Georgia Phi Beta Lambda Executive Director for this year’s conference, organizing the 35 performance events and recruiting more than 40 judges.

Carroll Chapter adviser Carol Pearson, GA PBL Foundation President, spearheaded a silent auction that raised more than $1,300 for the Foundation. Carroll Chapter adviser, Joey Sanders, presented a workshop and helped with performance events.

2017 State Competition winners and their respective competitive events are as follows:

First Place Winners

• Debbie Snider and Carrie Tarpley—Accounting Analysis and Decision Making

• Temi Lumpkin—Accounting for Professionals

• Daniel Williams—Accounting Principles

• Sheemika Kendrick—Administrative Technology

• Jodi Hubbard and David Herrington—Business Decision Making

• Sherry Gomez and McAllister Wheeless—Computer Animation

• Carrie Tarpley—Cost Accounting

• Daniel Williams—Financial Concepts

• Cody Ziegler—Forensic Accounting

• Cody Ziegler—Future Business Executive

• Alex Parker—Microeconomics

• Sherry Gomez and McAllister Wheeless—Mobile Application Development

• Luke Folds—Project Management

Second Place Winners

• Temi Lumpkin—Accounting Analysis and Decision Making

• Josh Lyons—Accounting Principles

• Susan Kerce—Business Communication

• Amanda Ashley, Valencia Harper, and Cindy Wilson—Community Service Project

• Wendell Sewell—Contemporary Sports Issues

• Boyd Stancombe—Cyber Security

• Amanda Ashley—Future Business Executive

• Dorothy Ngalame—Global Analysis and Decision Making

• Johnny Kitchens—Help Desk

• Maddie White—Hospitality Management

• Valencia Harper—Management Concepts

• Robyn Freeman—Project Management

Third Place Winners

• David Herrington—Accounting for Professionals

• Alex Parker—Aounting Principles

• Tonya Pickett—Client Service

• Sheemika Kendrick—Contemporary Sports Issues

• Luke Folds—Entrepreneurship Concepts

• Eric Scarantino—Management Analysis and Decision Making

• Meagan Caldwell—Management Concepts

• Susan Kerce—Personal Finance

• Maddie White—Project Management

• Wendell Sewell—Sports Management and Marketing